Diversity Committee 20222023 Meeting 5 Minutes

Date: March 10 2023 @ 900 AM Location: Virtual Meeting -Microsoft Teams Chair: Larry Israel Recorder: Simone Phipps

×

Present: Larry Israel, Simone Phipps, Andre Nicholson, Jonathan Cannon, Ashley Thompson, Sharon MozleyStandridgeRhonda Crombie, Rebekah Hazketudsen

Absent: Charla Baker, Lauren Grakeisha Fields, Kevin Lyon, Jenia Bacote, Shannon Daly, Allen Chastain

Call to order: Larry Israelcalled the meeting to order at 9:00 am.

- 1. AgendaApproval: Rhonda Crombienoved to approve the agenda, Rebekah HazlettKnudsen seconded, and the motion passed (All).
- 2. Minutes Approval: Andre Nicholson moved to approve the minutes, Sharon Mozley-Standridgeseconded, and the motion passed (All).
- 3. Unfinished Business:
 - a. Update on the Diversity Survey Larry Israelreminded

points It was agreed that it was a tough decision, with both applications being deserving. It was noted that one seemed more academic and one more community oriented, but both strong in terms of the work accomplished pertaining to diversity. It was mentioned that Elaina Behounek fit the criteria me. A motion was made by Simone Phipps to honor Elaina Behounek with the Diversity Award, and the motion was seconded by Rebekah Haz-**Kth**udsen. The motion passed (All). Thus, the winner of the Diversity Award will be Elaina Behounek.

Adjournment: Larry Israel moved to adjourn the meeting, and Sharon Mo to adjourned the motion. The motion passed (Alhe Theeting was adjourned at 9:11 am.