Middle Georgia State University (MGA) Institutional Review Board (IRB) Minutes of Meeting No. 2 Friday March 3, 2023 Microsoft Teams

Members in Attendance: Elaina Behounek (Chair), Deborah Stanfield (Substitute Recorder), John Powell Hall, James Hagler, Evaristus Obinyan, Richard Brinkley, Tamara Gray, Whitney Hamilton, Kim Johnson, Tami Godman, Kim Pickens, Otto Schwake, Chi Ngai Cheung, Heather McIntosh, John Girard, Kelisa Underwood

1. aina Behounekaskd for updates on CITI training. Faristus Ginyan mentioned that he had workd on the wrong modules. John Hall askd where the training should be accessed. Faina Behounekanswered John Hall's qestion showing him the website John Hall askd a qestion about student researchers. Faina Behounekresponded that if IRB approval is not reqired neither is CITI training, but that it is up to individual professors. Richard Binkey mentioned not being able to see IRB member training as an opticinsted for him, so he will put in a tickt for support. Tamara Gray askd when training must be completed. Faina Behounekresponded that by the end of spring breaks preferred, but that it must be completed by graduation. Finally, Faina Behounekreminded everyone to continue their workon IRB training.

- 4. Roster for next year: Elaina Behounek asked if present members wanted to stay on the IRB roster for next year. All present indicated that they did. Elaina Behounek reminded everyone that the IRB member training is required for everyone on next year's roster. Members who were not present at this meeting included: Kristen Sulinski, Shauna Mein, Kim Johnson, James Collins, and Christopher Cairney.
- 5. Discussion about chair next year: Evaristus Obinyan indicated that he was not interested in being the chair of the IRB next year. Elaina Behounek asked for volunteers. John Hall volunteered. Kim Pickens expressed her willingness to help next year's chair as did Elaina Behounek.
- 6. Approval of John Hall as next year's IRB chair: A motion to approve John Hall as the IRB's chair next year was made by John Girard. Evaristus Obinyan seconded the approval. The committee unanimously voted for John Hall as next year's IRB chair.

- 7. Discussion about next year's IRB goals/charges: A discussion was held concerning ideas for next year's IRB goals/charges. Important contributions to this discussion were made by John Hall, John Girard, Kim Pickens, Elaina Behounek, Otto Schwake, and Chi Ngai Cheung. The following charges were listed:
 - Expanding awareness of CITI training
 - Having an administrator from the provost's office to look at exempt proposals
 - Updating and improving the IRB website
 - Creating a new members, PIs, and/or new chair's cheat sheet
 - Registering for OHRD
 - Reviewing applications/forms for IRB