Middle Georgia State University Faculty Senate AY 2020 -2021 Meeting #8 via Microsoft Teams Friday, May 7, 2021

Present:

Mr. Richard Binkley, Assistant Professor of Aviation Science and Management

Dr. Ervin Briones, Associate Professor of Psychology

Dr. Kathleen Burt, Assistant Professor of English

Ms. Lauren Cater, Assistant Professor of Film Production

Ms. Vanessa "Paige" Crump, Associate Professor of Spanish

Mr. Duane Day, Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Dr. Stephen Fuller, Professor of English

Dr. Greg George, Associate Professor of Business

Dr. Joshua Harrelson, Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Dr. Rebekah Hazlett Knudsen, Assistant Professor of Social Work

Dr. Scott Hinze, Assistant Professor of Psychology

Dr. Richard Kilburn, Chair of the Faculty Senate, Associate Professor of Mathematics

Dr. Renat Khatmullin, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Ms. Tamatha Lambert, Recorder of the Faculty Senate, Director of Library Services Mr. Daniel Lin, Lecturer of Mathematics

Dr. Benita Muth, Professor of English & Coordinator of Graduate Technical Writing Programs

Dr. Anthony Narsing, Professor of Management

Dr. John Pattillo, ViceChair of the Faculty Senate, Professor of Biology

Dr. Vicky Sandoval, Assistant Professor of Information Technology

Dr. Kara Svonavec, Senior Lecturer of History

Dr. Stephen Taylor, Parliamentarian of the Faculty Senafer, of History

Dr. Laura Thomason, Professor of English & Provost Fellow for International Programs

Ms. Marla Thompson Assistant Professor of Communication Studies

Dr. Stephanie TolliverEpps, Assistant Professor of Nursing

Mr. Robert Torres, Lecturer of Aviation Maintenance Technology

Mr. Adam Young, Associate Professor of English

Absent/Excused:

Ms. Angela Adams, Assistant Professor of Nursing

Mr. Charlie Agnew, Professor of Art & Art Program Coordinator

Mr. Gerald Buffone, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Ms. Shannon Daly, Assistant Professor of Nursing

Mr. Paul Donnell, Lecturer of Aviation Maintenance & Structural Technology

Dr. John Hall, Assistant Professor of Political Science

Dr. Kassi Hill, Assistant Professor of Nursing

Dr. Charles Matson, Professor of Respiratory Therapy

Ms. Elisha Plaxico, Assistant Professor of Nursing

Mr. Kirby Swenson, Associate Professoof Biology

Guests:

Dr. Deepa Arora, Associate Provost Dr. Kevin Cantwell, Associate Provost & Dean of Graduate Studies Dr. Lorraine Dubuisson, Chair of the Executive Committee, Associate Professor of English Dr. Michael GibbonsAssociate Provost Dr. Tara Underwood Dean, School of Health & Natural Sciences

Call to Order and Approval of Agenda

Dr. Kilburn called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Dr. Kilburn noted that the minutes from our April 2 meeting were approved electronically on May 3.

Dr. Kilburn asked for a motion to approve the agenda for the current meeting. Mr. Day made the motion; Dr. Hazlett-Knudsen seconded. There was no discussion. The agenda was approved.

Report from President Blake

Dr. Blake noted that the University will hold five in-person commencement ceremonies next week. Each ceremony will be modified to account for COVID-19 conditions and limitations.

In the fall the University will return to hosting our annual Faculty and S4 (nd S44 (a)4 (t)-2-3 (OD)2 (-ul)-2 n t)-

the document entitled, Faculty Handbook Modifications and Approval – Faculty Senate May 7th in his email to the Senate. Dr. Pattillo also uploaded a copy of the document to the Teams meeting for Senators to review. Dr. Taylor moved that we consider all of these items as one unit. Dr. Briones seconded his motion. The motion passed without objection.

Dr. Taylor asked about additional references to SACSCOC in the modifications. Dr. Cantwell agreed that some clarification about SACSCOC was appropriate. There was not further discussion. Dr. Taylor's original motion to accept the modifications as presented was passed without objection.

Dr. Matthews mentioned that copies of Boyer's model of scholarship, Scholarship Reconsidered: Priorities of the Professoriatære available in each of the Schools and on reserve in the Library.

Faculty Senate Officers, 20212022

Dr. Kilburn asked for nominations for Vice-Chair. Dr. Taylor nominated Dr. Pattillo. Dr. Pattillo accepted the nomination. Dr. Pattillo was elected without objection.

Dr. Kilburn asked for nominations for Recorder. Ms. Lambert volunteered to serve as the recorder. She was elected without objection.

New Business

Dr. Kilburn asked if there was any new business. Dr. Briones thanked Dr. Kilburn for leading the Senate.

Dr. Kilburn mentioned that our next meeting is the first Friday in September.

Dr. Kilburn asked for a motion to adjourn. Dr. Fuller made the motion. There were no objections.

The meeting was adjourned.

Submitted by Ms. Lambert, Recorder