Graduate Studies Council AY 2018-2019 Minutes from Meeting 2, TEB 231, November 9, 2018

Present: Randy Spaid, Jonathan Yerby, Gerald Lucas, Gaston Brouwer, Ed Steigerwald, Francisco Lopez, George L. Israel, Maritz Bell-Corrales, Loretta Clayton, Sabrina Wengier, Neil Rigole, Scott Spangler, Gerald Lucas, Kevin Cantwell (

- 1. Call to order: Randy Spaid, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:30 AM.
- 2. The Agenda was approved. Francisco Lopez moved to approve, Gerald Lucas seconded, the motion carried by voice vote.
- 3. Minutes from the virtual meeting, Nov. 1, were approved. Scott Spangler moved to approve, Francisco Lopez seconded, the motion carried by voice vote.
- 4. Dean Kevin Cantwell reported on graduate school enrollment; explained the status of new graduate degree proposals in the areas of elementary education, information technology, and occupational therapy; charged the Council with examining its status and role in the institution, as well as the nature of its authority with regard to proposals for graduate programs.
- Loretta Clayton, Director of Graduate Student Policy and Support, reported on the graduate assistantships, the Graduate Student Advisory Council, and recruitment methods for graduate programs.
- 6. Old Business: Memorandum to Deans.
 - a. The criteria for graduate faculty credentialing remains tabled. Kevin Cantwell has written a memorandum on this issue that will go to the Senate for consideration.

7. New Business:

- a. Nominations: Neil Rigole was nominated to serve as Chair-elect. Vote unanimous. George L. Israel will remain as the Recorder through spring 2019.
- b. Appointments to standing committees: Francisco Lopez moved to table populating standing committees until the January meeting. Jerry Lucas seconded the motion. Voice vote unanimous.
- 8. Announcements: Bill Hervey and Chip Rogers were appointed to the GSC by the Provost.
- 9. Adjournment: The meeting adjourned at 11:00 AM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. George L. Israel, Recorder

January 7, 2019