02/01/18 Student Honors, Awards, and Graduation Committee Meeting

Chair: Jonathan Cannon Secretary:

Attending (*):

*Kathleen Burt, Ph D.

*Marla Thompson, M.A.

Carol Melton, Ph.D.

Jeffrey Tarver, M.P.A.

*Chris Hill, Ph.D.

Jonathan Cannon, Ph.D.

*Simone Phipps, Ph.D.

*Rhonda Amerson, Ed.D.

*Nelbert (Doc) St. Clair, M.A.

Melva Jones, M.S.

Paul Donnell, B.S.

Deepa Arora, Ph.D.

*Jennifer Brannon, Ed.D.

Brenda Hogan, M.B.A.

*Renee Pearman, M.A.

David Fuller, Ed.D.

C. Adon Clark, M.B.A.

Shaderia Howard

Zhanai Dubrey

Alexia Jackson

Angela Harris

Halie Leonard

*Stephen Svanovec, Ph.D.

Review past year

Select chair elect and secretary

delayed due to lack of quorum

Divide into subcommittees, select subcommittee chairs

honors convocation

*Jonathan Cannon (chair)

Marla Thompson

\$250 photography 2hr \$380 programs 250 Contact Jessica Whitley Photographer contact Renee Pearman about program printing

Presidential Scholar Subcommittee

Jennifer Brannon *Chris Hill (chair) Renee Pearman Simone Phipps

Nomination forms

set minimum character limit 100 words (set as-260 characters, which is approximately 85-words)

Academic Recognition Day Scholar

Select How?

- Focus on academics, contribution to field of study, and potential in field of study.
- Recommend Recognition of scholar during graduation as well.
- Start in September with call for nominations and selecting interview committee

These minutes were recorded by Jonathan Cannon on 02/01/2018.

Remainder of Y ear

Members of the committee, with much support from the Provost's office, collected nominations for student awards, interviewed and made recommendations for President's Scholar to President Blake, and organized and directed the Honors Convocation on £92018.