Middle Georgia State College Faculty Recognition Standing Committee

AY 2014-2015 Minutes of Meeting No. 2 TEB: Room 231 Friday, March 20, 2015

- Dr. Paul Gladden (Assistant Professor of Psychology)
- Dr. Sherie Owens (Assistant Professor of Education)
- Dr. Charlotte Miller (Assistant Professor of History)
- Dr. Steven Wallace (Associate Professor of Math)
- Dr. Christine' Rigsby (Assistant Professor of Biology)
- Dr. Yingfeng Wang (Assistant Professor of Information Technology)

Absent:

Ms. Beth Brown (Associate Professor of Respiratory Therapy)

Mr. Scott McElheney (Assistant Professor of Theatre)

Mr. Frank Ryerson (Associate Professor of Business)

Dr. Marina Spears (Associate Professor of English and Reading)

Presiding:

Dr. Paul Gladden (Chair, Faculty Recognition Committee)

Dr. Paul Gladden called the meeting to order at 10:00 am.

Dr. Paul Gladden presented the agenda. No amendments were made to the agenda. A motion was made to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Minutes were approved online

1. Old Business

i.

The committee voted unanimously to suggest the new award recipients will receive both a plaque and a monetary award, such as a travel stipend or a stipend towards attending a conference.

- 2. New Business
 - i. Discuss possible venues other than student honors convocation for presenting faculty awards beginning in 2016

The faculty awardees names can be mentioned during graduation allowing faculty to stand to be recognized. The faculty awardees can be more formally recognized at Faculty Academic Assembly, allowing them to receive their plaques on stage.

iii. Review criteria for selecting award recipients

The criteria was for selecting award recipients was reviewed. We were reminded

SERVICE: Narrowed to Charla Baker and Sheree' Keith through a tie. The vote will be opened to all committee members via email. Individual responses are required to be submitted on Monday, March 23, 2015.

TEACHING: Jeffery Mohr

As the next order of business, Dr. Paul Gladden opened up the floor for announcements.

- X Honors Convocation is April 1st in the PSC Banquet Hall.
- x Consider assessing the departments and schools from where the Faculty Recognition Nominees are represented.

A motion was made that self-nominations will be allowed with a requirement of at least one letter of recommendation. The motion was seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:58 am.

A private online vote was conducted to decide between Charla Baker and Sheree' Keith for the Excellence in Service award. Sheree' Keith was voted as the winner.

Dr. Sherie Owens, Committee Recorder