Middle Georgia State College Faculty Recognition Standing Committee AY 2014-2015

Minutes of Meeting No. 1 Academic Affairs Conference Room Friday, December 05, 2014

Present:

Dr. Paul Gladden (Assistant Professor of Psychology)

Dr. Sherie Owens (Assistant Professor of Education)

Dr. Charlotte Miller (Assistant Professor of History)

Mr. Scott McElheney (Assistant Professor of Theatre)

Dr. Steven Wallace (Associate Professor of Math)

Dr. Christine' Rigsby (Assistant Professor of Biology)

Mr. Frank Ryerson (Associate Professor of Business)

Dr. Yingfeng Wang (Assistant Professor of Information Technology)

Absent:

Dr. Marina Spears (Associate Professor of English and Reading)

Ms. Beth Brown (Associate Professor of Respiratory Therapy)

Presiding:

Dr. Paul Gladden (Chair, Executive Committee)

Dr. Paul Gladden called the meeting to order at 11:00 am.

Dr. Deepa Arora (Assistant Provost for Academic Affairs) greeted the committee. Dr. Arora recommended that the committee review previous awards to determine if there was a pattern to the distribution. It was then suggested that we encourage all schools to participate.

Dr. Paul Gladden presented the agenda. No amendments were made to the agenda. A motion was made to adopt the agenda. The motion was seconded and the motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Paul Gladden reviewed unfinished business from the agenda.

The first item was the review process and procedure for nomination of Faculty Excellence awards. It was suggested that the committee research the possibility of additional awards for the 2015-2016 school year. Possible areas to consider may include, but are not limited to: Advisor, Exceptional Pedagogy, or Part-Time Faculty. The possibility of adjusting the timeline was also discussed. At this time, the call for nominations will be sent out this month.

The second item up for review was the process of collection of supporting materials. The suggestion was made that the nomination process be streamlined and if possible, reduce the work required on the part of the nominee.

Dr. Paul Gladden introduced new business from the agenda.

The first item of new business was the election of a recorder for the committee. Dr. Sherie Owens was nominated. The nomination was seconded, no other nominations were received, and a motion was made and seconded to close the nominations. Dr. Sherie Owens was elected to the position of recorder unanimously.

The second item of new business was the election of a chair-elect for the committee. Dr. Steven Wallace was nominated. The nomination was seconded, no other nominations were made, and a motion was made and seconded to close the nominations. Dr. Steven Wallace was elected to the position of chair-elect unanimously.

Next, Dr. Paul Gladden presented the plan for future work.

First the committee was presented with the suggestion that one member of the committee take responsibility for uploading all the information into a shared drive for the three award areas. The call was for a volunteer for Scholarship. Service, and Teaching. The result was as follows:

Scholarship: Dr. Christine Rigsby Service: Dr. Sherie Owens Teaching: Dr. Paul Gladden

The shared drive will be accessible by all committee members to have access to review submissions.

Next each Award Nomination Forms were reviewed. The committee accepted the Teaching and Research Award Form with no modifications. It was discussed and accepted that the Service Award should be revised to extend the required time of service from 2 years to 3 years.

As the next order of business, Dr. Paul Gladden opened up the floor for announcements.

No announcements were presented.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting. The motion was seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 11:35 am.

Dr. Sherie Owens, Committee Recorder