# Middle Georgia State College Academic Personnel Policies Committee Meeting # 1

# Wednesday February 18, 2015 2:00 p.m.

Location: Macon, Professional Science Center (PSC), 341

Members present: Sabrina Wengier, Randy Steinmann, Derrilyn Morrison, Nick Yang, Kevin Floyd, Francisco Lopez, Mary Wolfe, and Dorothy Reese

Members absent: Andrew Reeves, Michael McMorris, Randy Spaid

Guest(s): Kevin Cantwell, Barry Monk

### I. Call to Order

- a. Dr. Kevin Floyd, Chair of the Academic Personnel Policies Committee, called the meeting to order at 2:06 p.m. and made the motion for adoption of the Agenda.
   Dr. Derrilyn Morrison seconded the motion.
- b. This is the initial meeting. No approval of minutes. The floor opened for discussion of New Business.

#### II. New Business

- a. Welcome and Introduction
  A round table introduction of committee members ensued.
- b. Election of Chair Elect
  - Dr. Floyd asked for nominations for election of the Chair Elect. Sabrina Wengier nominated herself. No further nominations were made. Motion was made and carried to accept Sabrina Wengier as Chair Elect for the Academic Personnel Policies committee.
- c. Election of Recorder
  - Dr. Floyd asked for nominations for Election of Recorder. Dorothy Reese and Francisco Lopez were nominated. A ballot vote was elicited from the committee. The vote was Dorothy Reese (7) and Francisco Lopez (1). Motion was made and carried to accept Dorothy Reese as the Recorder.
- d. Workload Task Force, Dr. Kevin Cantwell and Dr. Barry Monk Dr. Cantwell and Dr. Monk discussed the Faculty Performance Agreement Draft; the Work Load Policy and Internal MGSC Study, and proposed revision of the Associate Professors Tenured Without a Terminal Degree.

Dr. Cantwell provided the committee with a charge to modify and/or approve the Workload Policy and Internal MGSC Study. The floor was opened for

nominations of a subcommittee to work with the Faculty Workload Taskforce to aid in the achievement of the committee's charge. Mary Wolfe, Francisco Lopez, and Derrilyn Morrison were nominated for the subcommittee. Three subcommittee members were deemed to be sufficient to carry out the task. Motion made and carried for acceptance of Mary Wolfe, Francisco Lopez, and Derrilyn Morrison as subcommittee members. They will meet Wednesday February 24<sup>th</sup> at 2 p.m.

### III. Announcement

No new announcements.

Next meeting was set for Wednesday March 4<sup>th</sup>, 2015 at 2:00 p.m. in PSC 341.

### IV. Adjournment

Motion was made and carried for adjournment of the meeting. Meeting was adjourned at 3:33 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,