Middle Georgia State College Faculty Senate AY 2014–2015 Minutes of Meeting No. 1 PSC 112 Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Present:

Mr. Charlie Agnew (Associate Professor of Art)

Dr. Charla Baker (Assistant Professor of Mathematics)

Dr. Maritza Bell-Corrales (Associate Professor of Spanish)

Dr. Patrick Brennan (Associate Professor of English)

Dr. Gaston Brouwer (associate Professor of Mathematics)

Mr. William Perry Brown (Assistant Professor of Aviation Science & Management)

Dr. Robert Burnham (Professor of History)

Dr. Jeff Burne (Professor of Biology)

Dr. Sharon Colley (Associate Professor of English)

Ms. Charlotte Costello (Assistant Professor Nursing)

Dr. Javan Frazier (Associate Professor of History)

Dr. Greg George (Associate Professor of Economics)

Dr. Michael Gibbons (Assistant Professor of Sociology)

Ms. Lawanda Greene (Assistant Professor of Nursing)

Mr. Michael Hammock (Assistant Professor of Mathematics)

Dr. Myungjae Kwak (Assistant Professor of Information Technology)

Ms. Felicia Haywood (Librarian)

Ms. Linda Morgan (Assistant Professor of Nursing)

Dr. Benita Muth (Associate Professor of English)

Dr. Anthony Narsing (Associate Professor of Business)

Dr. John Pattillo (Associate Professor of Biology)

Dr. Chip Rogers (Associate Professor of English)

Dr. Randy Spaid (Associate Professor of Education)

Dr. Darcy Sun (Assistant Professor of Health Services Administration)

Mr. Kirby Swenson (Assistant Professor of Biology)

Guests:

Dr. Christopher Blake (President, Middle Georgia State College)

Dr. Steve Wrigley (Executive Vice-Chancellor for Administration, University System of Georgia)

Dr. Kevin Floyd (Associate Professor Information Technology)

Mr. Bill Hervey (Professor of Health Services)

Dr. Alex Koohang (Dean of the School of Information Technology)

Dr. Charles Matson (Associate Professor of Respiratory Therapy)

Dr. Martha Venn (Vice President for Academic Affairs)

Dr. Mary Wearn (Assistant Vice President for Academic Planning and Policy)

Mr. Albert Abrams (Chief of Staff, President's Office)

Dr. Nancy Bunker (Outgoing Faculty Chair of the Senate, Associate Professor of English)

Dr. Bunker called the meeting to order at 1 p.m. Recognizing the quorum, she asked that the Senate approve an amended agenda to place Dr. Wrigley at the start of the meeting. Dr. George moved to approve the amended agenda; Dr. Rogers seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Dr. Steve Wrigley spoke to the new Senate; he addressed performance based funding, Complete College Georgia initiatives, and the differences in the proportion of operating funds from state sources alongside the funding from tuition. He answered questions regarding the consolidation process and progress for the university system with optimism for the future of Middle Georgia State College and its move towards university status.

Faculty senate officer elections were conducted after Dr. Wrigley's remarks. Senators for each office were nominated, seconded, and voted on by the Senators in the room. Mr. Bill Hervey, Parliamentarian of the Academic Assembly, Dr. Charles Matson, Chair of the Executive Committee, Nancy Bunker, outgoing chair of the Faculty Senate, and Mr. Albert Abrams, Chief of Staff within the President's Office served as tellers and recorded the votes. The new officers of the Faculty Senate are: Chair, Dr. Patrick Brennan; Vice Chair, Dr. Chip Rogers; Recorder, Dr. John Pattillo; and Dr. Sharon Colley, Parliamentarian.