Dr. Allbritten expressed interest in having a mace for the school that would be part of the graduation ceremony. He would like it ordered before Christmas. Concern regarding the purchase of a mace, particularly in regard to cost, was brought up by the student representatives and several faculty representatives later in the meeting. Later in the meeting it was voted for and decided that a subcommittee regarding the Mace should be formed.

Dr. Allbritten recommended banners be designed for each of the schools which would be carried by designated faculty during the processional. It was proposed that a subcommittee should be formed regarding the processional. Dr. Alex Koohang disagreed with formation of a subcommittee to make this decision. Dr. Koohang suggested that this is a decision that could be made immediately with all present. Dr. Vicki Luther stated we should table the idea of a subcommit

Dr. Vicki Luther raised new business for the committee to attend to: there was a failure to elect the chair elect at the last meeting. Nominations for the chair elect for next year were made. Shane Trayers and Trinika Addison volunteered. Because two persons volunteered to become chair-elect, it was determined that voting should be done by secret ballot. Both nominees spoke about themselves. Mrs. Vivian Austin collected the ballots. Dr. Shane Trayers was elected the chair elect for next year.

A charge of this committee is to ensure our students are being represented in the Honors Awards Ceremony. If students from a department or school are underrepresented for awards we must look at awards and make sure our students are represented in the best possible way. Also, it may be helpful to consolidate redundant awards. This was tabled for now.

Dr. Vicki Luther made the motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded and approved. The meeting was adjourned at 10:44 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Charles W. Ward, Student Honors, Awards, and Graduation Committee Recorder