## Faculty Recognition Committee Meeting 1

September 30, 2011 10:00 am, PSC257

Dr. Jim McNeil (Chair), Carol Bloodworth, Dr. Kevin Cantwell, Dr. Myra Davis, Teresa Kochera, Dr. Clay Morton, Dr. Frank Ryerson, JoAnn Saxon, and Dr. Matthew Zimmerman.

Dr. Neil Rigole, Dr. Steven Wallace, and Dr. Martha Venn.

Meeting called to order at 10:00

Call for Chair Elect nominations: On nomination for Dr. Clay Morton, no other nominations made. Faculty voted all in favor of Dr. Clay Morton as chair elect.

A discussion of tentative faculty recognition nomination time-line occurred, Dr. Mc Neil provided an example from last year and requested the committee to review dates and a vote on the timeline will be conducted at next meeting.

A discussion of the need to define "faculty" as it applies to these awards briefly ensured, the committee agreed to continue this discussion at a later date.

A discussion related to the inclusion of "advising", "grant writing", and "leadership" as potential new awards followed. Members of the committee discussed concerns over dividing monetary recognition over more than three awards. Members of the committee express a desire to consider including these key terms in the description of the three current awards.

The next meeting was scheduled for November 11, 2011 at 10:00, location to be determined.

The meeting was adjourned at 1035

Respectfully Submitted, Teresa Kochera, Recorder