Executive Committee Meeting # 10 Friday, February 24, 2012 PSC 341

Members present: Dr. Nancy Bunker, Chair, Dr. Donna Balding, Dr. Amy Berke, Dr. Gaston Brouwer, Dr. David Fuller, Dr. Harriet Jardine, Mr. Charles Matson, Dr. Terry Smith, Mr. Christopher Tsavatewa, Dr. Monica Young-Zook

Members absent: Dr. Martha Venn, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Robert Burnham, Dr. Anthony Narsing

Guests: Dr. Kevin Cantwell, Dr. Vicki Luther, and Ms. Renee Pearman

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

- 1. A motion to approve the minutes from the February 10th meeting was made by Harriet Jardine, seconded by Monica Young-Zook, and was approved.
- 2. A motion to approve the Agenda was made by Harriet Jardine, seconded by Gaston Brouwer, and was approved.
- 3. Nancy Bunker updated EC on the status of the work done toward SACS accreditation with regard to the deferment granted by the Georgia Department of Education. The completed SACS report will not be submitted because the consolidated MSC/MGC will require changes to the existing report. The MSC Report, the documents gathered, and standards completed will serve the consolidated institution well as it moves toward SACS accreditation. The Executive Committee would like to recognize and thank all of those individuals who worked on the SACS Report.
- 4. Vicki Luther, Chair of the Student Honors, Awards and Graduation Committee, and Renee Pearman, Publications and Marketing Coordinator, updated EC on the work of this committee. 1) Two separate award ceremonies, one for student leadership and one for academic achievement will be held this year on Honor's Day. EC was charged with seeking from their units, suggestions for meaningful academic achievement awards and student award nominees, and forwarding those suggestions to their respective Chairs and Deans. 2) For graduation this year, students will be expected to participate in a graduation rehearsal. At this rehearsal, Dr. Allbritten will emphasize the importance and solemnness of this occasion. Students will be seated according to their respective School, with Deans of Schools and volunteers responsible for the lining up of students.
- 5. Kevin Cantwell, Faculty Chair of the Senate, in consideration of the upcoming consolidation, presented EC with a Draft of Principles for a Consolidated Senate. The principles require review by shared governance processes, in addition to

President Allbritten and President Stoy signing off on them. The Consolidated Senate